RUNS IN THE FAMILY

I got a stunning phone call from my brother today,

…he received his colonoscopy results in the mail. One of the polyps that had been removed was precancerous.

His Facebook update said this about it:

“My sister’s cancer spurred my early detection which caught a pre cancerous polyp. MY SISTER SAVED ME FROM GETTING CANCER!

Thanks, Sis, you don’t have to get me anything else for my birthday this year.”

Whew! You got it done, Bro! Congratulations on taking the hard step to get examined.

..And by the way, I never get you birthday gifts. 😉

Advice which I think is important for patients of the colonoscopy:

You should tell your GI Dr when you go to see him/her that he should include a copy of the colonoscopy report with his letter. Patients will want to see it, and should have access to it, especially if they have a suspicious ‘something’ in their colon/rectum. I got a full report even before I woke in the hospital bed, and was able to start research, plan, and let the news sink in. You may not get a real diagnosis like I did because it may not have been advanced like mine was, but you would have had answers to some common questions, like:

  • where were the polyps located
  • how big
  • what shape were they’, etc.

It kind of bugs me that he didn’t get this valuable information.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Bob Dowma

     /  May 22, 2012

    I have been praying for you ever since I re-established contact with Mary, and she gave me an update regarding you.
    Bob Dowma, a long time friend of your wonderful mother!

    Reply
    • cancer4me

       /  May 26, 2012

      Thanks Bob! Nice that you are keeping up with these, and keeping in touch with my Ma.

      Reply

Back Talk

