DAY 5 POST OP – RELIEF!

Happy as a hog in mud!

For now, at least. I had my first full plate of eggs and toast! I showered for the first time in a week, got fresh bedding and gown, went for a walk, sat in the sun… I’m fed, ‘drained’, cleaned and feeling blissful!

Again, last night was rough. Beginning yesterday afternoon, the flow of fluids through the stoma slowed then halted. *Oh no*, because this means accumulation and explosion of intestinal fluids, like a grape getting ready to burst. It would be a matter of hours before the excess fluid would be jolted up through my mouth. So, preemptively, I began walking and moving around hoping the stoma would relax and start moving things through again, all the while feeling miserably uncomfortable. NOTHING!!! Stubborn stoma…

About 8:00pm, I’d had enough and gagged myself. That was disappointing because hardly anything came up. Ugh! What do I have to do to get some relief???

Matt was beside himself. Now, a partner who has to stand by and watch his partner go through horrendous pain and discomfort with no resources at his hands can get very stressed, like a caged animal. So he sent the nurse to call my surgeon and ask what can be done for me. The nurse came back with little helpful news. So Matt told her to get the surgeon on the phone he wanted to talk to her right now. She did, and Matt and Dr. Childs had a discussion that imparted how very concerned Matt was about me, I hadn’t eaten, was miserable, etc, and Dr. Childs insisted that this is still normal for me to be feeling this way, that she would come by in the morning to try a different approach to getting my flow going again.

So, many hours of discomfort, fatigue, ache, etc, etc…

In the morning, the usual hubbub began with a vitals check, toridol injection, protonics injection, changing of IV bag, so on, and so on. Then Matt leaves to get his coffee from the cafeteria, and I get up to look out the window. Just then, my surgeon walks in (halleluja!), and I describe yesterday and last night to her. She pokes around my bag a bit, goes over a couple of options, then proceeds to use a clear tube stint to drain the contents of my abdomen into a bucket where she could measure exactly how much had come out of there. More, and more, and more, and more. And that’s when Matt walked in. He jumped in to assist as the doctor’s right hand man. He loved to be involved!

Dr. Childs, like Matt, is animated when she talks. Picture me lying in bed, Matt wearing surgical gloves that are way too small for his hulking hands, standing next to the doctor who is draining my innards. She is talking and gesturing with her gloved hands like she is at a party, bile is flinging and flying in spatters all over me, Matt, my bed, the floor. She did mention that anything in the small intestines is sterile, thank God. And I’m amused by this whole scene because I’m feeling RELIEF!

It takes a while for a tiny tube to drain the fluids out, and in the end, there are 1750 CC’s (that’s quite a lot to be sitting in my bod). We discuss next steps, food intake, and how to keep me comfortable for the rest of my time here. She ordered me scrambled eggs, and a high-protein, soft food diet, then was on her way.

And it was like heaven. Six days of not eating, I think I mentioned before, is frustrating, especially when I’m so close to being ready. I had my first shower, all bedding replaced, my breakfast…

…And I literally felt like rolling in mud! Oink!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. do not roll in mud! stick to clean sheets. they never seem to tell you about post surgery. they say – oh you’ll feel a bit uncomfortable. well yeah! but you are on the way up and not the way down – and that’s the best part.
    donna

    Reply
  2. tom foeller

     /  May 28, 2012

    Michelle,
    Great to hear you’ve had some relief and got some real food in you. Also sounds like you’ve got the best nurse possible in Matt……..if he can handle the process and results he can handle anything.
    You learn and see first hand how your body processes food. It’s kinda like attending a school biology class, but the classroom IS your body. When i got home from the hospital i found the safest place to change my bag was in the bathtub – until i got the “hang” of it.
    Luv your blogs…….tom

    Reply
    • cancer4me

       /  May 30, 2012

      🙂 Thank you Tom! Your perspective is, of course kindred, and I appreciate that!

      Reply

Back Talk

