BALANCING THE BOWELS

The next chapter in colorectal cancer recovery is: Balancing the Bowels.

salad-high-residue-diet-livestrong

Not OK on low residue diet

cupcake_low_residue_livestrong

OK on the low residue diet

I wish I could say recovery has gone well, but it has been quite bumpy. I’m frankly getting worn down to the wick and frustrated. The biggest problem is that I’m too healthy! Yeah! My bowels aren’t tolerating my healthy diet!

At first it helped. High fiber foods, basically what Matt & I keep in the kitchen, are whole grains, fresh vegetables, etc. These were helping my system loosen up, but now it’s a curse and I need more refined foods,  like white bread, white rice, bakery foods, etc. All stuff we stay away from as a rule. On top of the diet is the medication – antibiotics, pain relievers and supplements, which all throw a monkey wrench into the machinery.

And I still need more rest. I am trying to take on some simple chores, such as grocery shopping, but afterward I am punished with debilitating cramping and fatigue.

This is a phase that I ‘just have to get through’; part of the healing. Matt is trying to adapt to my ever-changing needs, and is an amazingly compassionate and attentive partner, but at some point the caretaker, as the patient, gets worn down. Matt & I are looking forward to moving on to the ‘next phase’ of our lives, and to our trip north.

Currently, I have a couple of great books, and plenty of time to sit still and read them – such a rarity for a ‘well person’!

When the bowels are balanced, we will be enjoying friends again. Until then, it’s rest and relaxation!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Back Talk

