MY BODY IS HAPPY, FINALLY

No cramps, no pains, no struggle with the bowels; my body is finally happy.

The last few weeks have been quite difficult. I’ve been pretty quiet about it wanting only to concentrate on getting my body better. Although I knew that eventually my body would be happy again, I just felt worn out. Fear of inciting abdominal cramps kept me from moving, and there was no finding a comfortable position. It took agonizing minutes just to roll my sore gut over in bed. What I ate and what, if anything, I should eat haunted me at every meal. I didn’t want to upset any balance in comfort I may have found. Persistant concern over bowels that were either stopped up or gushing made my foreseeable life miserable. I have never known chronic pain or discomfort like what I felt the past weeks.

Prior to my Monday meeting with Dr. Childs, I rounded a corner in physical comfort and emotional health. What exactly caused the relief from cramps and gas of the past weeks, no one knows for sure; the rest, the switch to low-residue foods, a combination?

Pains subsided three days ago, and now doing yoga stretches without pain brings me tears of joy.

It is common to feel we don’t have the guts or inborn vision to push through tough lifetime events. I am astute to this lesson now. I read this recently:

“If you’re going through hell, keep going.”

– Sir Winston Churchill

I kept my sights on the light at the end of the tunnel, and my body is finally happy!

Pink_Flower

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Raizie Axman

     /  August 6, 2012

    Michelle, “Ma Belle”, Your challenge has been up there with the
    olympic athletes!! And you won the GOLD!!!! Enjoy your return to good health and just pamper yourself for a while . We are all so relieved and happy for you , Matt and your families..
    lots of OOOO’s to you Raizie

    Reply
    • cancer4me

       /  August 13, 2012

      Yes I did win the gold, and I worked for it. But instead of an Olympic medal, I get Olympic-sized bills, Ugh. Yes, life is sooo good!

      Michelle

      Reply
  2. Sandy Visse

     /  August 2, 2012

    Thank you so much Michelle for sharing your story with us all. Although it is your very personal journey we have all been touched by the fear and dread of your diagnosis and the ongoing challenges of your treatment and rehab from your surgery. Now we can rejoice not only in your return to health but also in the way in which it was achieved. Thank you for modeling for all of us, courage in the face of adversity, determination in moving forward in life despite continuing obstacles and your acknowledgement and appreciation for those who have been there with you (Matt) every step of the way!

    Reply
  3. Kay McGary

     /  August 2, 2012

    Michelle – send us a photo of your happy smile. We’re so glad that you finally feel better and are beginning to do normal things again.. Keep up the good work and don’t over-do anything. Hope to see you and Matt soon. Be well.

    Kay

    Reply
  4. d

     /  August 2, 2012

    So thrilled for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hope to see you and Matt before too long. diana

    Reply

Back Talk

