MEAT FLAP

What do I make of this?

 

I posted some graphic photos at the bottom of this. For anyone who has a sensitive stomach, do not scroll down to see these shots.

 

Enjoying a contented, easy day of post surgery rest and relaxation, I had no stress, Matt had made sure I was comfortable and was now onto the work that he’d put on hold to be with me through surgery day. I was being ever so cautious and gentle with every movement so as not to stress my abdomen.

 

He had volunteered to change my surgical dressings, which were to stay in place for 24 hours post-op. Oh, my angelic husband; he was installing an air conditioning unit, and when it came time I carefully removed the dressings which had soaked up a good amount of fluid from the wound. What I found, I just couldn’t comprehend. I thought, “Did the doctor forget to stitch me up?” There was a surgically clean gash about 2-1/2 inches across my abdomen looking at me like a piece of raw, flayed steak, and underneath that, some kind of matted mass of gauze.

 

Matt dropped what he was doing and rushed over while questions were reeling through my mind and my mouth. I didn’t feel so well, and sat on the bed to allow some nausea and light-headedness to pass. As Matt prepped new dressings, he explained that the doctor said that this would be the only way this sort of wound would heal, “from the inside out”, and not to panic, it would be ok.

 

I lay down on the bed while Matt used some rudimentary tools to pull the gauze from underneath the meat flap, which did not want to let go where it was holding on. Oddly, it did not hurt, yet I was in shock from the sight of the gore.

 

Matt turned on my camera phone and handed it to me and said, “We should film this. Here, take some pictures!” Oh, Matt! I couldn’t think of anything I wanted to do less… yet, I knew he was right, I mean, isn’t this a once-in-a-lifetime event, dealing with a live wound on his wife’s belly? So I obliged, making a pathetic mug for the camera, which didn’t take much effort.

 

After several minutes of gently tugging, the gauze finally pulled free and Matt finished dressing me with the fresh materials.

“I can’t believe they let me do this,”

he mused, referring to the medical staff sending him home with the responsibility of keeping the flesh clean and alive. I couldn’t either. Doesn’t it seem like something a trained professional should be doing given the risk of infection, or flesh necrosis? It seemed like a big responsibility for my husband to take on for me, let alone for me to do on myself??

Baffled, I am!

The hissing in my ears from the shock of the ordeal finally wore off and I napped until dusk.

I felt better when I woke up, but was extra-cautious of my movements now that I knew I had a meat flap to protect!

~

~

~

~

~

~

Grossed-out

Grossed Out

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

franken-bunny

Yeah, kind of like that!

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

meat_flap

Meat Flap

pathetic_mugs

Our Very Most Pathetic Mugs

gauze_extraction

Gross Gauze Extraction

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Raizie

     /  May 2, 2014

    After this, NOTHING will ever gross u out again! My mom had the same kind of wound on her hip after a joint replacement. And yes, if did heal from the inside out.
    PS: Matt takes great selfies!

    Reply

Back Talk

